HRA Captains Day and Teams Challenge Shield – Sunday 7th April 2024

Welwyn Phoenix Coaches - Hertfordshire Challenge Cup

HRA Captains Day and Teams Challenge Shield – Sunday 7th April 2024


This traditional opener to the Hertfordshire County shooting season was shot on a fine spring day, with quickly changing and strong wind conditions

The individual Captains Day event is run in the morning using a handicapped format, to encourage shooters of all ability to enter. The Captains Day prize is given to the competitor with the highest handicapped score and a prize for the best gun score is also up for grabs.

This year again due to fall back restrictions, the course of fire was revised to just two distances, 2 & 10 at 300 and 600 yards. With the strong and variable winds, good scores were very difficult to find.

WPRC fielded 7 entrants out of a full field of 12 competitors. In this individual handicapped morning competition, Dick Winney of Old Haberdashers prevailed to win the Captains Prize and Salver, with our own Liam Keohane in second place.

Bruce Winney bagged the top Gun Score, making it a real family affair, and won the bottle of malt whiskey.

Full scores can be found at:

Follow ‘Competition Details’ then ‘Captains Day’ links.


In the afternoon the Herefordshire Club Teams Challenge Shield was shot at a single 600 yard distance with a 2 & 20 course of fire. This year’s entry attracting four teams of six shooters.

The testing wind continued into the afternoon, with wind brackets of 4 to 10 ½ being recorded.

Competition was fierce with some excellent controlled shooting. Ultimately WPRC opened up a gap over North Herts Rifles finishing a commanding 25 points clear to win the Challenge Shield trophy, again with the dubious honour of arranging next years event.


Club                                       Aggregate                  Top Gun

Welwyn Phoenix RC           540.31                        James Greenway     99.12

North Herts Rifles                515.30                        Ian Ashworth            97.12

Old Haberdashers               514.29                        Liam Keohane (res) 91.4

Old Berkhamstedians         505.30                        Bruce Winney           96.6


The WPRC team comprised:

Alistair Bullen

James Greenway

Nick Verduyn

Ashley Coleman-Cooke

Colin Skellett

Richard Malet

Bob Jackson  (Coach)